clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Earthquake Quartet #1 Combines Sound Waves and Seismic Waves

New, 1 comment

The Great California ShakeOut is coming, and Los Angeles Contemporary Exhibitions got the party literally rocking last night with a performance of "Earthquake Quartet #1." The composition describes "the earthquake cycle in which plate motions build up strain until it is suddenly released during earthquakes," and was both written and performed (on trombone, viola de gamba, and voice) by USGS geophysicists. "The latter part of the piece," as described by a press release, "is based on the idea that society and culture, including music, takes place with the earthquakes as an often ignored backdrop." Dr. Andrew Michael, whose research involves the improvement of earthquake probability estimates, composed "Earthquake Quartet #1," and you can hear it here. [2008 performance on a shake table via LA Moves]
· Earthquake Quartet #1 [LA Moves]
· Earthquake Quartet #1 [USGS]