clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mayne Wins MacDowell

LA architect Thom Mayne can add another prize to the shelf undoubtedly holding his Pritzker. Mayne will be the 49th recipient of the Edward MacDowell Medal from The MacDowell Colony, "the nation’s leading artist residency program." Mayne is only the second architect in the history of the award to receive the honor, but it now puts him in league with past recipients such as Leonard Bernstein, Thornton Wilder, and Georgia O’Keeffe. It certainly makes him the straightest person to win. [Bustler]